Lost in Second Life

Lost_main_title_svg

I have just finished a marathon viewing of the series “Lost” [which will soon be celebrating the 10 year anniversary of the show’s broadcast premiere on September 22, 2004]. I had checked out the pilot episode, for old times’ sake. But like before, I found myself watching episode after episode, all the way to the end.

What, you may ask, has this got to do with Second Life, or any virtual world?

When I discovered Second Life, in 2007, the SL mainland was like an island, and I had crash landed there. I did not know where to go, what to do, or how to do it. I was quite literally “Lost” in Second Life.

A couple of Mentor greeters found me. They welcomed me, answered my questions, and taught me basic survival skills. More importantly, they gave me their calling cards and said I could contact them any time I needed assistance. Armed with that lifeline, I began to explore my new island home.

I discovered a number of smaller islands adjacent to my home island. Living on these islands were people who had crashed there before my time, and others whose origins were vague.

When wild island beasts [griefers] invaded my beach encampment in the middle of the night, I reached out to those Mentor helpers. Without hesitation, they gave assistance. After all, that is what Mentors do, regardless of whether it is your first day or your seventh year.

Now, a lot has been written about resident retention and the best way to assist with the new resident experience. In my experience, nothing works better that the one-on-one, person-to-person method.

It is time to bring back the Second Life Mentors. They are experienced castaways who have helped many new arrivals discover the island mystery which is Second Life. SL Mentors are the first line of defense when new residents are in danger of becoming permanently lost in Second Life.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

